Tuesday, January 31, 2017


On Friday, January 27, 2017, President Trump issued an Executive Order titled “Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States.” 

Among other provisions, the Executive Order suspends entry of nationals from seven designated countries for 90 days from the date of the order.  These seven countries are:
-          Iran
-          Iraq
-          Libya
-          Somalia
-          Sudan
-          Syria
-          Yemen

The order does not define what “from” one of the seven designated countries means.  Due to the vagueness of the order, it is best to interpret “from” as including passport holders, citizens, nationals, and dual nationals from these seven designated countries.

There is an exception for refugees that were in transit to the US at the time the order was issued.  In addition, the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced on Sunday that Legal Permanent Residents (green card holders) would be able to enter the US, absent significant derogatory information indicating the green card holder posed a threat to US national security.

After the 90 day ban, travel is not automatically reinstated.  The US DHS is required to report whether countries have provided information needed to determine that the foreign national(s) is not a security or public safety threat. 
Several court cases have been filed challenging the President’s Executive Order.  These court cases have generally been decided against the order, but none of the cases have specifically struck down the order.  Reports indicate that each US airport is enforcing the President’s Executive Orders differently.

Please note that the situation is fluid and may change at any time.  If you have specific questions about your case please contact your MU attorney.


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Good day MU, what would be the implications of the this executive order for those who are waiting for their visa including the employment based? Will it affect their visa processing?

  3. Hi Joey - if you are from one of the seven countries then it will delay the visas. If you are not from one of the 7 countries, then there should be no delay.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.