Wednesday, March 8, 2017


On Monday, March 6, 2017, President Trump issued an Executive Order titled “Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States.”   This Executive Order will go into effect on Thursday, March 16, 2017.  Among other provisions, the Executive Order states individuals from six designated countries who are outside the United States and do not currently have a valid visa are not eligible to travel to the United States for 90 days. 
  • Iran
  • Libya
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Yemen

Please note that Iraq has been removed from the list of countries effected by this Executive Order.  This Executive Order does not apply to:
  • lawful permanent residents (green card holders)
  • dual nationals who travel to the US on a passport issued by the non-designated country
  • individuals who hold a valid visa on the effective date of the Order.  No visas will be revoked.
  • foreign nationals traveling on diplomatic visas
  • individuals granted asylum or refugee status in the US before the effective date of the order

The US Department of Homeland Security and US Department of State have discretionary authority to issue visas on a case-by-case basis to nationals of the six named countries when denial of entry would cause undue hardship. 

Nationals from countries not named above can travel abroad but should expect additional delays and scrutiny at the airport when re-entering. Please note that the situation is fluid and may change at any time.  If you have any questions, please contact our office.

1 comment:

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.